Paphos Gate in Nicosia’s old town is one of the three entrances through the Venetian walls, which were designed in 1567 by the Venetian architect Giulio Savoragnano.
The road immediately outside the gate leads southwest towards Paphos, hence the gate’s name. It is also known as the ‘Gate of San Domenico’ as it replaced an earlier gate of the Frankish walls called ‘Porta di San Domenico’, named after the nearby abbey of San Domenico.
The simple gate has an opening in the wall and a barrel-vaulted roof. During British occupation in 1878, part of the wall between the gate and the Roccas Bastion was demolished to create a new opening.
Paphos Gate Police Station is just above the original gate.