Carobs are one of the island’s most beloved products, and the Old Carob Mill in Limassol was built in 1900, when they were still a major export product of the island.
In the past, Carobs were used to make photographic film plates, medicines, sweets, and chocolates. Today, their usage predominantly revolves around making sweets.
Divided into a complex of two distinct areas, the first area of the Old Carob Mill consists of the restored Carob Mill – where the machinery used in processing the carobs is preserved and displayed – and the second area houses the Evagoras Lanitis Centre – an arts and exhibition area.
Located in the heart of the old town of Limassol, the surroundings around the old Carob Mill offer the potential to visit other historical sites around it such as the Ayia Napa cathedral, or the Kebir Mosque, as well as a number of restaurants and cafes to rest and indulge in the local gastronomy and the Limassol Sea front promenade.
The Old Carob Mill is open all year round and is closed on Public Holidays. Opening and closing times as well as entrance fees, are subject to alterations without notice. Visitors are advised to check before visiting.